top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayla Dudley

How I Recalibrate When I'm Discombobulated.

In such a hectic time as this -- and as the school year approaches -- I figured that it would be more important to write a blog post than to finish my first chapter of psychology homework. My new and dear friend is to be given credit for this decision. "You should start a blog!" she said, and I was reminded that I already have one! It's been so long. Hello again, dear friends. Hello again, future me.



Amid testing positive for COVID less than a week ago, I have learned a thing or two about being discombobulated. For months, anxiety has been on the back-burner of my life; it has no longer played a lead role in my decision-making process. It was only when I read all of the scary side effects of this new virus that it came back full-force the other night, leaving me feeling like I needed to call the ER for "shortness of breath." However, that passed -- as all things in this transitory life tend to do. That's one good thing about being human: everything is temporary. Every moment can be cherished for what it is. If you're going through heartache, it's a season. If you're going through a time of newness, that's also a season. Everything is made beautiful in its time.


My reason for writing this is that I hope it will be a light for someone that needs it. I am a firm believer that perspective changes EVERYTHING. Being in isolation has partnered itself with an underlying message for me; a reminder of what it takes for my body to feel re-centered and peaceful. These daily practices and mindsets have proven to be effective multiple times in my life, which is why I would like to share them with others:


1) There is nothing that has carried me through life more in the recent months than the verse: "For me to live is Christ, to die is gain." When the worst fears of mine ever start to resurface, the Lord brings that line to my remembrance and I think to myself, "Oh, that's not too bad." It's like a breath of relief. Even at the end of my rope, life is still great because of Him. Life after this life is still great... indeed, greater than great!


2) Getting out in nature rocks my world. I can walk the same neighborhood time and time again, and it brings a sense of familiarity and peace as I breathe the fresh air, feel it on my skin, and take in the sights of the trees and houses around me. Talking to a stranger about her stray cat is fun, too. Social distanced, of course.


3) Going for a drive with worship music playing -- or blasting, in this case! I love to turn my music up and drive through those same windey streets, a life-giving perspective playing in my ears and an imagination running wild for what the future will hold. Anything is possible with Christ!


4) Humor heals. One of the most liberating things that I have found in my life is having a sense of humor. Whether I am cleaning up poop as a caregiver at work, giving an Alzheimer's resident a shower, or am in a less-than-convenient situation, being able to find the lighthearted side of the situation flips my world around, brings a smile to my face, and a laugh to my lips. Plus, it gives those around me something to laugh about too, so that we are all happier together!


5) Bible Study. I tend to underestimate Bible Study time all too often, and it is only recently that I have dove back in to a specific discipline of a chapter of Proverbs, a reading of two different devotionals, and note-taking. My goodness, this seems so simple but it has been tremendously uplifting. It pushes me to want to uplift my friends with what I am learning, turning my heart tender amidst the hardness that the world tries to impose on it.


6) Writing. Writing is such an outlet for me, and I absolutely love to take notes on things that I read, see, hear, or experience that fill my day with hope. Things that are radically different and make me excited for the future and applying it in my own life. Writing for personal projects also is such a joy to my soul: whether it be blog posts, children's books, or a book that I am currently working on pertaining to geriatric care.


7) Friends. We find out who our friends are in times of hardship. We find out who checks on us when we are ill -- in spite of the busyness of life. We find out who makes us soup or shoots a text or gives us a call. I cannot stress enough how important it is to continuously check up on someone in isolation / quarantine. Not just once and not just if you know them well. I didn't see the significance of this until I came down with the sickness. We also have plenty of time to ponder and pray about who needs a friend. More important than wanting to be treated a certain way, is treating others a certain way. More important than expectation, is giving. More important than frustration, is acting out of love and speaking to wise people who can give counsel on how to do just that. More important than making shipwreck of relationships, is knowing that -- in hindsight -- loving everyone and acting from a place of love is all that really mattered. Doing friendship the Lord's way.


At the end of the day, there is never a reason to be bored when we have minds full of creativity to be channeled, hearts that are capable of being softened and utilized, and a choice over the life that we live because of our Savior. Now, on to living each day like it's our last!


<3


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page