top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayla Dudley

You're a Daffodil, and That's Important



Over the course of the past few days, I have been thinking a lot about friendships and what it means to be a sister in Christ. Numerous thoughts have dawned on me pertaining to this topic, and it is my delight to share them with anyone who feels led to read on!


So many things in this world beckon us to compare, self-sabotage, and be less than a good friend. In a podcast today, the host spoke on this scripture: ..."we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original (Galatians 5, MSG).


Wow! We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Did you read that? Each and every one of us has a unique calling; we are an original design with an original journey, so why should we compare?


What does this mean for relationships in our lives? Well, my friends, one of the epiphanies that I have had lately is this: When I am frustrated with others, I can think to myself: "That is someone that God loves; that is my brother or sister in Christ." Indeed, whether I am delighted in or frustrated with others, I can use that as an opportunity to thank the Lord in my every remembrance of them. (Phil. 1:3-11)


I want to always be someone who believes in others and tells them as such, even amidst their worst actions and mistakes. I want to meet them where they are (no matter where that may be) and believe in the "them" that God created them to be. To help them believe that they can step into that version of themselves, and that they can be matured and perfected by Him. I desire to be the kind of person that when someone thinks they're messed up, I come alongside them and dispute that with the Truth that they are fearfully and wonderfully made. That God wants to finish the work that He started in them -- even and especially the Prodigal Sons of the world. I want to affirm others' existence. I want to speak the Truth in love, whether that be in encouragement or correction.


I have found that when we truly love others (and we are called to love all), we should compel ourselves to want the best for them. I am thankful for the reminder that in order to operate from a place of such Love, I must pour over God's Word and be constantly attached to Him. Love is written on the pages of scripture, as the Lord Himself is the definition of Love. He knows our hearts and He honors when we call on Him, saying: "May the meditations of my heart be pleasing in Your sight, O God."


As a body of believers and as God's own hand-picked representatives, there is nothing more profound that we can do than operate out of His Two Greatest Commandments: Love the Lord and love your neighbor as yourself. This means that we should edify and build each other up as a family of believers: nourishing and taking care of our neighbor's body as we do our own. May we have the understanding that as Christians, we are all parts of one bodily system, each organ with a different and distinct purpose that allows the other organs to operate. This is not a time to compare, as we have far better and more beautiful things to do. This is a time to strengthen and bear up under our brothers and sisters; to cheer them on as they accomplish the God-given gifts they have been given, and to remind them of who they are and who they are called to be in Christ Jesus. This is not a time to give up on people. It is a time to stay when everyone else leaves. It is a time to keep believing in him or her, when everyone else has stopped believing in them. It is a time to put bitterness to death, put ourselves aside, and help carry the baggage of those around us. It is a time to tell others that we love them and are proud of them -- that we are so excited for what God wants to do and CAN do in their lives. It is a time to serve.


I have found that the only way it is possible to live such a life abandoned to genuine love, is to stay in the One Who is Love. As scripture says: "But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in His law doth He meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf shall not wither; and whatsoever he doth shall prosper" (Psalms 1:2-3, KJV).


The Love that I have received from Him is unmerited and overflowing. My Comforter enables me to comfort others. If He never did anything else for me, His death on the cross would still be enough; stretching out His hands, taking all of the world's sins upon Himself. Indeed, "Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends" (John 15:3, KJV).


How could I ever show partiality in loving, when our God is an impartial God? How could I ever withhold hope from another, when God has given my hopeless soul a reason to live? How could I ever judge if someone is worthy to love, if I am the most unworthy of all? As Paul says, "The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost" (1 Timothy 1:15, ESV). We are but dust, saved only by undeserved mercy and grace. Yet, this is a mercy and grace that gives us infinite worth in Him.



As one of my residents living with Alzheimer's once said, "I'm a daffodil, and that's important."



My dear reader, I want you to know that you are a daffodil too, and that is of grave importance. Let us affirm each other in that, build each other up, love one another fiercely and with no bounds. You were made for such a time as this.



"Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves" (Philippians 2:3, NIV).


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page